How to Deactivate or Delete Your Telegram Account

You can permanently delete your Telegram account if you no longer use the messaging platform.

Telegram is a solid, feature-packed messaging app. But if you’re switching to a new messaging app, it’s best to delete your Telegram account before switching.

MUO VIDEO OF THE DAY SCROLL TO CONTINUE CONTENT

Telegram does not provide a direct switch that you can tap on the app’s settings on all platforms. So, here is a step by step guide showing you how to deactivate or delete your Telegram account.

How to export your data before leaving Telegram

export telegram data

Telegram does not allow you to temporarily close your Telegram account. Once deleted, you cannot undo the action and restore your account or read old text simply by logging in again.

Thankfully, Telegram offers a desktop export option in case there are any conversations you want to save for future reference.

To use it, install the Telegram app on your PC and log in. Then follow these steps:

  1. Click the three bars in the upper right corner to display the navigation menu and select Settings. Telegram Settings menu options
  2. Now click on Advanced and scroll down until you find the Export Telegram Data option. Select the type of data you want to export by clicking the appropriate checkbox. You can also adjust the size limit for the files that go into the exported data and choose the download format; this can be JSON or HTML. Telegram Advanced Settings menu options
  3. Click Export. Depending on the size of your data, Telegram will complete the extraction process in a few minutes. Click Show My Data to view the file. Telegram Export Dialog Box

How to delete your Telegram account on iOS app

The option to permanently delete your Telegram account is only available on the iOS app and web version.

See more:  What Is Signal and How Does It Work?

To permanently delete your Telegram account via the iOS app on iPhone:

  1. On the app, tap the Settings icon at the bottom right.
  2. Next, go to Privacy and Security.
  3. Scroll this menu until you reach the Automatically delete my account section.
  4. Here, select If Away For. 2 images Telegram settings menu Telegram's security and privacy menu
  5. Tap Delete account now.
  6. Scroll down to the following menu and tap Delete my account.

    If you instead want to set a deletion period, tap Cancel at the top left and define a new period of inactivity after which your account will self-destruct. You will see the available options, starting from 1 month to 1 year. You will have to be inactive for the specified period for the automatic deletion to take effect.

  7. Finally, press Continue. Then continue. 3 images Alternatives to deleting Telegram account Option to delete Telegram account Delete Telegram account final step
  8. Enter your phone number in the field provided and tap Continue.
  9. Finally, tap Delete my account to permanently delete your Telegram account. 2 images Telegram mobile number entry menu Delete Telegram account final step-2

Once completed, this action will delete your Telegram account on all linked devices.

How to delete your Telegram account across platforms

Whether using the Android, desktop, or iOS app, using the Telegram website will delete your account regardless of which platform you use to access Telegram.

To deactivate your Telegram account through this option:

  1. Visit my Telegram website.
  2. Enter your Telegram phone number in international number format, then click Next.
  3. The confirmation code will be sent to you via Telegram, not via SMS. Make sure you can access your Telegram account to get the code. Telegram confirmation code has been sent
  4. Enter the code in the “Confirmation code” box and click Sign in. Telegram enters Confirmation Code
  5. On the next screen, click the Delete account link. In the text box provided, write your reason for leaving. Tap the Delete my account button when you’re ready. Delete Telegram account
  6. Select the red Yes, Delete My Account option in the prompt and you’re done. Telegram will delete your account and data permanently.
See more:  How to Find and Manage Your TikTok Favorites

Can you deactivate your Telegram account temporarily?

You cannot temporarily deactivate your Telegram account. The only option you have is to inactivate your Telegram profile. If it helps, you can uninstall the Telegram app from your computer and phone.

However, keep in mind that leaving Telegram for an extended period of time will eventually result in your account being automatically deleted permanently. To avoid this, try logging in to the app periodically before the auto-delete period expires (six months by default). If you don’t want people to know you’re online, you can hide your last seen on Telegram.

What happens when you delete your Telegram account

Before deleting your Telegram profile forever, it’s best to understand the consequences of doing so.

When you delete your account, Telegram says it will delete all your chats and data. Your account is permanently terminated and your messages and contacts will be irretrievably deleted.

As for channels and groups you’ve created, they will continue to function normally even if you delete Telegram, and current admins will keep their privileges. In case you are the only admin, Telegram will randomly assign an active member as the new admin.

On top of that, Telegram won’t let you set up a new account with the same phone number again for at least a few days. Additionally, removing an account that has been restricted due to spam-related activity will not remove the ban.

Why you might want to delete your Telegram account

Although Telegram boasts a number of useful features, there are still some reasons why you might want to deactivate your Telegram account. Here are just a few reasons why you might want to delete Telegram…

See more:  Why I Can't Add Friends on LINE? All Reasons Explained!

1. Telegram is no longer the best app for you

With so many instant messaging apps available, it’s possible that Telegram is no longer the best messaging app for your needs. Maybe there’s a new app in town and you want to move your chats there, or you’re worried about Telegram’s features that could reveal your location.

2. Your friends are leaving Telegram

Perhaps some of your friends or family members no longer use Telegram. Hence, you are following them from Telegram to pastures new to stay connected.

3. Telegram’s policy makes you worried

Popular messaging apps often know a lot about you. It’s also possible that you don’t feel comfortable with Telegram’s open policies and its large community reach. Many reports claim that Telegram is a hotbed for illegal activities and hosts channels where users can easily download new movies or music for free.

4. You don’t trust Telegram

Telegram does not encrypt chats by default, and its security model has been criticized by some. By comparison, its competitor Signal is generally rated higher when it comes to security and privacy.

Is it time to delete Telegram?

Telegram is a competent messaging platform available on multiple platforms. However, if you decide to quit Telegram, these methods will help you delete your Telegram account and keep your chat data locally on your computer.

If you’re still looking for a new place for your digital chats, there are a few Telegram alternatives you can try.

Categories: Tips & Tricks
Source: c3kienthuyhp.edu.vn

Leave a Comment